Taylor Hamai | Honolulu, Hawaii

Taylor

Looking at our city’s demographics and our mission to become more age-friendly, I felt empowered, at 18 years old, to do something that could make an impact on our community.

That’s what sparked my interest in intergenerational work during my senior year of high school.

My intergenerational project was a series of greeting cards called “Messaging With Love,” which included two other young people.

messagingwithlove1

Click image to view enlarged version.

(See all “Messaging with Love” cards.)

My mission was to share and honor the legacy of incredible centenarians, promote awareness for older adult support and raise money for a local non-profit that supports older adults.

On the back of each card is a bio with the centenarian’s name, age, and life accomplishments.

taylortipsWhat made my project successful was that I truly cared about what I was doing. I knew that I could make an impact and devoted a lot of time to my project.

My project is an example of what is possible with a little inspiration and a lot of hard work. As a result, I’ve seen firsthand the mutual benefits of younger and older generations working together.

Leave a Reply

