Victoria McGuire | White Plains, New York

Victoria photo 1I was in 5th grade when I started an intergenerational to erase stereo types between generations.

My intergenerational project involved both kids and seniors working together on different community service projects to help all generations within our community. Several of our projects are helping home bound seniors within our community.

This project impacted my life. Because of it, I know what I want to do when I graduate college: work in the field of geriatrics and work with the underprivileged seniors and other members in my community.

Victoria's tips

Victoria photo 2This project resulted in me being asked to present my project at several conferences. I was also asked to have my project replicated.

Another success of this project is that it impacted other youth, many of whom no longer have negative stereotypes of seniors.

As for my project being replicated, the participating seniors and volunteers all look forward to working together.

Leave a Reply

